Greetings

Welcome to The Griot. My name is Prinsey Walker. I am a student at Xavier University of Louisiana, a small HBCU located in New Orleans. Now, I am half way through my Sophomore year, majoring in Mass Communications, where I am working toward being a credible multimedia journalist.

So you may ask, what exactly is a Griot? A Griot is a term used in West Africa, meaning Storyteller. Griots are storytellers, musicians, intellectuals, creative artists and poets. Griots were men who  traveled in West African countries to document history for the people before, they began recording their history through writing.

Through this platform, I want to be your Griot. Though I do not know my specific African roots, I believe that being a storyteller is in my blood. Ever since I was a child, I loved to tell stories by writing and performing.  Now, I want to capture moments and history through pictures, videos, music, poetry, and blogging. However, the history I am recording all relates to You.

The Griot is a space for You. This is a platform focusing on social issues that millennials are facing today. I am growing, and  you are growing. This is a site for us to grow together. Please, do not be afraid to communicate and engage with me through the blogs and through various social networking sites. Let me know what you want to see, as I document history. #Yourstory

13012774_10209534638387263_7087741880630438047_n

Leave a Reply

